Welcome to the community! Tell us about yourself, your welding interests, skills, specialties, equipment, etc.
BumpStick
    Thu Mar 24, 2016 1:21 pm

Hello Yall-

I'm Chris A. M... some of you might get the correlation between my initials and my screen name. I spent 9yrs in the Army in the maintenance shop, most of which I was the shop foreman. I was very fortunate in that most of the time we had a welder either in my platoon or another platoon in the battalion. Our motto was 'Adapt and Overcome.' This was due to either not having what we needed, having to create things to get the job done, or things went FUBAR. I was fortunate to be able to do everything I wanted to do in the Army except learning to weld.

I'm a gear-head. I like working on classic cars, muscle cars, rat rods, Harleys, and right now alot of off-road vehicles. Its been a hobby because I have been a mechanic full time and I didn't enjoy it. After the military I went back to school for a business degree since even with my experience and ability to be management and run things more efficiently they said I had to have that piece of paper. Even with that piece of paper its not helping. I wanted to learn to weld to aid in my hobbies, but that turned into wanting to learn to expand my skill set to make me more marketable. Well things have changed even more but for the better now. The VA says that I will not be able to rejoin the work force. That means I will be getting 100% disability. So now I will be learning to weld for my own hobbies and to do side jobs for people in the automotive circles I run in.