Tig welding tips, questions, equipment, applications, instructions, techniques, tig welding machines, troubleshooting tig welding process
914pete
    Wed Jan 29, 2020 3:43 pm

Hi, first post. Really like Jody's videos. I bought a AHP Alpha Tig 201XD recently and have been practicing with it this week mainly on AC and 1/16 6061 sheet. Just running beads for now. I have zero experience tig welding. Pretty good with a MIG and O/A torch. Anyway, I keep getting popping sounds while running beads. I can hear the usual buzzing AC sounds (like Ive been hearing in youtube vids) in the back round but I'm also getting erratic popping sounds similar to mig welding. I'm practicing on clean scrap 1/16 6061 sheet. I even thoroughly cleaned it with a dedicated SS brush and acetone. Still getting the popping sounds. I've been using 3/32 and 1/16 2% lanthanated tungsten and two different 4043 filler rods which I cleaned as well. I'll be honest, my beads are not that pretty and I've tried all kinds of settings and the popping is always present throughout a 1-3" bead.

I just practiced again a little. 1/16 2% Lanthanated, 1/16 4043 filler, 1/16 6061 sheet thoroughly cleaned. AMP 30, switch to TIG, AC, 2T, pulse off, AC FREQ 50%, Post flow 5S. Standard #6 cup on a #9 head (this machine came with an interchangeable #9 and 17 head. I keep the amps low around where I can achieve a decent bead at full amps because I still am not use to using the foot pedal.

Any suggestions?

Also, does anyone have this particular machine? The main amp dial is WAY off. Like setting the dial to 50 amps shows only around 30 amps on the digital readout. Normal? Can I expect ALL the dials to be way off? I wish I knew someone that had this machine and has used it a lot because I have so little experience with TIG welding, I'm not even sure if it's working correctly. LOL
cj737
    Thu Sep 29, 2016 8:59 am