Tig welding tips, questions, equipment, applications, instructions, techniques, tig welding machines, troubleshooting tig welding process
atomicjoe23
    Wed May 07, 2014 6:05 pm

Could anyone provide any general info on sanitary/food grade welding? I'm not exactly sure what I'm looking for. . .I will take anything from tips to requirements.

I am looking at TIG welding 304SS in a brewery application (anything from external repairs to new brewery piping and equipment). . .I completed a two-year ATA in Welding Technology and I have a little experience welding stainless steel (more experience with carbon steel) so I'm not a complete newb, but since I have no industry experience with food-grade welding I don't want to just assume the only things I need to worry about are proper filler metal selection and quality welds. I've been doing general welding (external brewery repair) and decorative (tasting room decorations) for them for a while, but there is an opportunity to expand. . .

Thanks for the help!!!
    Thu Jan 06, 2011 11:40 pm

Welcome Joe,

For sanitary piping, you won't usually be using filler metal. You'll be focusing on extremely precise fits that are autogenously welded. You simply butt them up, and fuse them with your TIG torch. There's an arcane art to this, to use the right heat for complete penetration, and not blow it out. Your finished weld will be "slightly" below the pipe's OD, which would be a no-no in any other craft.

This is an overview, from my having worked with sanitary pipers for Hershey Foods, and others. Someone with real experience will chime in within a few days, I'm sure.

Steve S
    Thu Jan 24, 2013 10:13 pm

atomicjoe23,