Tig welding tips, questions, equipment, applications, instructions, techniques, tig welding machines, troubleshooting tig welding process
Billy B
    Thu Mar 03, 2016 6:01 pm

image.jpg
image.jpg (139.47 KiB) Viewed 1484 times
Hi guys. This is my first attempt at tig welding and as you can see I'm not running straight. Any tips would be great. :mrgreen:
Rick_H
    Sat Feb 08, 2014 1:50 pm

Practice, Practice, Practice....

Start at a low amp setting so you can keep up with the puddle, slowly increase amps and dab speed, repeat ;) If your just starting out Id recommend NOT weaving or walking the cup, learn to read the puddle then dab filler.
I weld stainless, stainless and more stainless...Food Industry, sanitary process piping, vessels, whatever is needed, I like to make stuff.
ASME IX, AWS 17.1, D1.1
Instagram #RNHFAB
motox
    Thu Nov 28, 2013 12:49 pm

as i think steve had recommended in a pervious post,
use your grinder and cut straight groves in the material
that you can follow as you practice.
craig
htp invertig 221
syncrowave 250
miller 140 mig
hypertherm plasma
morse 14 metal devil
    Thu May 07, 2015 11:46 am

Is there a reason why you are trying to run weave beads? Just run regular beads unless you need a weave. Cutting straight lines with a grinder sounds like a great idea.
Freddie
Billy B
    Thu Mar 03, 2016 6:01 pm

Hey thanks for all of the great information! I will definitely be putting all of it to use. That was my first attempt...obvious I imagine!
So I need to learn how to freehand rather than trying to learn how to walk the cup right now?
Rick_H
    Sat Feb 08, 2014 1:50 pm

Billy B wrote:Hey thanks for all of the great information! I will definitely be putting all of it to use. That was my first attempt...obvious I imagine!
So I need to learn how to freehand rather than trying to learn how to walk the cup right now?