General welding questions that dont fit in TIG, MIG, Stick, or Certification etc.
jroark
    Thu Jul 16, 2015 2:39 pm

So this scenario happened the other day at my shop. A guy wants me to weld something on his lawnmower that he does business with. It's a Walker mower. I do the job didn't take 10 minutes total and I say "how about $20". The guy looks at me like I went to the bank on him and pays me. The whole time I'm fixing it he's telling me how he's got a bottle and a welder at home and how he had welder do a job for him and it didn't hold up but he welded it and it lasted longer than the welders job did. I'm thinking why did you bring this to me then if you can weld right? I'm no pro but I weld for a living and I think that's totally out of line. I don't go to the barber and tell him how good my wife cuts my hair and how it's free at home the whole time he's cutting my hair. I might get a buzz cut I didn't want doing that. Anyway, that's my rant for the week. You guys ever encounter that? Was $20 too much?
    Thu Jan 06, 2011 11:40 pm

$20 is the "good buddy" rate. A close friend or family member might get the job done for beer, but if I don't know you, I'm not putting my hood on for less than $20, if I'm just putting two tacks on something.

The guy was trying to guilt you into a freebie for his 10 minute job. If he appreciates your work, he'll be back. If he doesn't, you didn't lose anything but a headache.

Steve S
jroark
    Thu Jul 16, 2015 2:39 pm

I see this guy twice a year at thanksgiving and Christmas so the good buddy rate was where I was at. In over 10 years of welding he's never given me any work and probably never will so... no loss.
electrode
    Wed Nov 02, 2016 5:02 pm