General welding questions that dont fit in TIG, MIG, Stick, or Certification etc.
TDLanders
    Tue Jan 03, 2017 2:42 am

Hi All,
I have been using Harbor Frights 120 welders for about 7 years and they are so cheap when a new model comes out I sell off the old to get new. I have been holding out thinking that they would put out something on par with other generic manufacturers. It looks like it is not going to happen fast enough for me. But enough of my rambling.

I am looking for a small upgrade for my small operation. The ability to work with more materials is what I am after. I would love to have a multi-voltage multi-process unit that fits in the same cabinet at the HF unit that cost under $1k. As it stands There are 3ish units on my radar: Klutch MIS/Stick 220Si (china), Eastwood MP200i (china), Tweco/Firepowers/Victor/ThermalArc/ESAB Fabricator 181i (USA?).
All of the units are very close is spec and options in being running on 240V and can handle 1/4"-3/8" steel on a single pass MIG 1/4" Stainless in TIG burn 1/8" rods in ARC and still 1/4 Aluminum via spool gun. The MP200i is the most powerful of the bunch and price around $900 with a 3-year warranty. The 220Si is the cheapest at about $800 also with a 3-year plan. The 181i at around $1000 with the same time on the clock.

So who do I Give $1000 of my hard-earned money to??? :?:
are you crazy?
cj737
    Thu Sep 29, 2016 8:59 am

None of the above. You stretch a little bit with your finances and buy this:
https://www.weldingsuppliesfromioc.com/ ... der-907693

It will do all you ask, plus more. I have its predecessor and aside from TIG being "Lift Arc" only, its a great little unit. It TIG welds very smoothly, it MIG welds like a dream, and the spool gun for Aluminum MIG is unusually good. It runs Stick welds as well as my Dynasty (almost ;) )Coupled with my Dynasty for AC TIG, its a pair thats hard to beat for what I need.
Farmwelding
    Thu Mar 10, 2016 11:37 pm