General welding questions that dont fit in TIG, MIG, Stick, or Certification etc.
Mousegun
    Sat Jan 07, 2017 6:15 pm

I'm beginning a search for a new welder and need a little advice.

Most of my welding is done in a farm shop doing fabrication and repair. Mostly using A36 steels but recently I've had a couple of projects that require welding of AR400. I'm no expert but my skill level is decent for a non school-trained welder.

Right now I'm using an older Miller 250 mig. This particular machine is one my brother purchased new probably 20+ years ago. It gets me by but has been troublesome from the day he got it. In particular, it has always had trouble with terrible weld spatter and nothing we've found helped much. Recently the cooling fan has quit working.....time to upgrade.

So....I'm in search of a new machine with similar amperage rating as the Miller 250. Most of the work I'm doing will be Mig, but I would like to have the capability to stick weld as well for times I"m working outside with a little wind, or for materials that would be best welded with stick. I would also like a machine capable of spray transfer Mig. (although I haven't done it yet)

Should I be looking at multi-process, inverter machines or stand-alone equipment? Currently I don't do Tig but if a mult-process machine has the capability I would probably utilize it.

My work can range from light gauge sheet to my current project which is res-skinning a 10' dozer blade with 5/16" AR400....Probably 50 feet of weld on that job.

What features do you find most useful on newer welders?

Any recommendations to narrow my search would be greatly appreciated.
Farmwelding
    Thu Mar 10, 2016 11:37 pm