General welding questions that dont fit in TIG, MIG, Stick, or Certification etc.
    Thu Dec 01, 2016 12:30 pm

My Harbor Freight table has been great for learning, but I think it's time to get something that won't collapse if I lean on it.

I am looking at tables. It's very confusing. Some people claim they do great with a slab of 1/4" plate that hasn't been ground or otherwise flattened. Other people seem to think you have to be flat within ten thousandths in order to weld things flat and square. Some people use solid slabs. Others use slats one inch apart. Others use holes which may be metric or imperial and may or may not be threaded.

My head hurts.

I would like to have at least 2 x 3 feet. I don't plan to put 500-pound engines on it, but I would like it to be fairly solid. I would like to be able to clamp stuff down without welding it to the table. The table has to have casters, period.

I'm just a hobbyist/farm owner. I don't have a good excuse to blow thousands on an 8'-long table.

I also do plasma, but so far, I have not needed a special table. I just hang the work out over the edge of the welding table or clamp it in a vise.

I looked at Fabblocks. They don't look too bad. I'm not sure I understand their Fabrack leg kits. It sort of looks like they send you a bunch of square tubes and tell you to weld them together. Couldn't I just go get tubing at my metal dealer's?

What do I really need? Are fancy tables with lots of holes really so wonderful they're worth the money, or will I be sitting in the workshop wondering why I spent so much?

I was thinking I might get a few slabs of 5" x 3/4" steel and put them on a homemade frame. I'm about to put my milling machine back in commission, so I suppose I could flatten the slabs fairly well.

Kind of wondering how I would create a square frame and legs for the table...without a good table!
I was socially distant when social distancing wasn't cool.
cj737
    Thu Sep 29, 2016 8:59 am