General welding questions that dont fit in TIG, MIG, Stick, or Certification etc.
Jakedaawg
    Mon Feb 16, 2015 8:45 pm

4 1/2 grinders.

I've been using my Makita's for several years. 2006 or so. I've got one that's getting hot now. Hot enough you need gloves. Yes, I am a wuss. It's not making funny noises, just heat. So time to have a back up ready.

I hear everyone saying metabo.

My question: have the Makitas done downhill since the 2006ish models? Is that why the Metabo talk? I am just not sure I need a $300 angle grinder or whatever these things are called.

I do use them daily. I also prefer to buy good tools. I have over 100k in tools I would guess. If you figure new purchase price times 25 years of being a professional tool user. But these darn makitas dont die. The dewalts did, the Milwaukee did...makita outlasted them all.

I have no need for a 6" grinder so I am guessing Metabo makes the 4 1/2 also.
Miller Dynasty 280 DX, Lincoln 210 MP, More tools than I have boxes for and a really messy shop.
TraditionalToolworks
    Mon Dec 18, 2017 7:49 am

Jakedaawg wrote:I hear everyone saying metabo.
I have no need for a 6" grinder so I am guessing Metabo makes the 4 1/2 also.
I can only speak for myself, but they're my favorite angle grinders. I have 3 angle grinders, 1 is a Milwaukee 4-1/2", 1 is a Metabo 4-1/2" and 1 is a Metabo 6".

I bought both of my Metabos used and rebuilt them, you can buy the bearings and brushes to do that yourself, so they're not as expensive that way. What makes the Metabos really nice is the special nut they have that attaches on the wheel, you don't need any additional tools to change the wheel.