General welding questions that dont fit in TIG, MIG, Stick, or Certification etc.
NashTheFlash
    Tue Oct 14, 2014 9:52 pm

right now i have to options in mind for when i graduate high school
1. Tulsa welding school (im sure you all are familiar) 7 months
2. pit state in Pittsburgh kansas- Bachelor of Science in Technology Degree with a Major in Automotive Technology with a focus on diesel and heavy machinery (diesel mechanic) 4 years
http://www.pittstate.edu/department/auto/four-year-dhe/

I have visited both schools- pitt has (as far as i can tell) just a basic welding class. i have to pick one because of $$$$$$

i have been working on cars since pretty much birth: trucks, race cars, equipment,ect and have been welding for a few years (just self taught+advise from a crappy high school shop teacher) and i like them both. i cant decide what one is best for me though and i don't know anybody that has perused either profession to talk to. i like to move around and not afraid to move to another country for a few years. Im a very hard worker, very business mined, and self motivated. i am also good at talking to people and i have already started my own business and would prefer to work for myself after i work in the industry for a few years. so my main questions are

1.what one is it easiest to start your own shop/repair company
2. what has the better job availability
3. where is the money at
4. are there any other better programs out there

i appreciate any input thanks in advance
Mike
    Mon Dec 06, 2010 1:09 pm

Welcome to the forum.
M J Mauer Andover, Ohio

Linoln A/C 225
Everlast PA 200
dsmabe
    Sat Sep 20, 2014 5:50 pm

Welcome to the forum, and let me say i know exactly where you are coming from. I, myself have had a life long interest in automotive and mechanical workings. I also am self taught in welding.