Welcome to the community! Tell us about yourself, your welding interests, skills, specialties, equipment, etc.
IamGroot
    Mon Aug 08, 2016 3:29 pm

Hello to everyone. I'm very happy to find this forum! I've been watching Jody for a while now.
I am a professional automotive mechanic, and have been for 45 years. I've owned my own shop for 28 of those. I'm a pretty good mechanic, but I'm a lousy welder! I would dearly love to be able weld decently, hence my happiness at having found this forum. I enjoy metal fabrication tremendously. I learned to weld in high school. As soon as I had a job, I bought a Victor gas welding rig and gas welded everything. So I have been gas welding for over 40 years. I'm certainly not saying I'm a good gas welder, but I realize I am as good as I'm ever going to get. I also have an ancient 185 amp Lincoln tombstone. About 20 years ago I bought a new Millermatic 250. I used it a lot, but I guess because I could never get good at it, I have never enjoyed mig welding. Actually, I hate mig welding. Until Jody's videos, the relationship of the two mig welding controls made no sense to me whatsoever. Amps makes sense to me. Wire speed and voltage do not. And then Jody cleared it all up with his video on wire speed. I still don't understand what the voltage control does, but it no longer matters, I sold the Miller! I bought what I have always wanted ever since I was a kid - a TIG welder. For the money, I just couldn't pass up the AHP. Night and day! I LOVE tig welding. It is absolutely perfect for what I need it for. I mean, I thoroughly enjoy tig welding. It is therapeutic for me. I'm not a good welder, but I can look at the tig welds after I'm done and be happy, especially on smaller, thinner stuff, vs. with the mig welder having to grind all the embarrassing electric diarrhea mess off and do it over again.

I really want to learn to be a decent welder. Thanks for letting me in here.

-groot
Welsh Weldlord
    Thu Oct 20, 2016 7:21 pm

Hi