Welcome to the community! Tell us about yourself, your welding interests, skills, specialties, equipment, etc.
    Mon Feb 26, 2018 1:52 am

Hi Ladies and Gents,

First time poster here. I am a beginner welder (very new about 3 weeks). I am taking a community college course on stick welding (SMAW), oxyfuel cutting and some MIG. I have been really enjoying it and am stoked to be learning, practicing and experimenting in the field of welding. My future welding goals are to get better at stick and also start to transition into TIG once I get my own machine. I am a hobbyist and not working in welding professionally, but I also hope to take on some side work at some point, and tag along with some pros in the field locally to see how the real welders do it.

In addition, to introducing myself I'd like to take this opportunity to ask for some advice on getting my first machine. One of my neighbors has offered me a twice used Miller Maxstar 150 STL for a grand. It is the contractor pack so it includes a torch and some other goodies and the hard case etc. As someone who is learning stick this seems like a decent little machine to continue to learn with. I also want to learn TIG so that will be a nice feature to also have once I start down that road. I understand that the maxstar 150 only runs on DC so no aluminum, but I figure that's fine for the time being until I actually know what I am doing with TIG and Stick and want to learn aluminum tig. I am pretty down to go for it, but I figured I'd ask if there was anything I should watch out for.

Looking forward to becoming part of the welding community and join in on the fun online!

Cheers,

Michael
Poland308
    Thu Sep 10, 2015 8:45 pm

Welcome! The 150 stl is a great little machine. I have one I use a lot. But I think that’s almost new price. Here’s a link to the new version of the machine.
https://www.weldingsuppliesfromioc.com/ ... -907710001
I have more questions than answers

Josh
Mike
    Mon Dec 06, 2010 1:09 pm