Welcome to the community! Tell us about yourself, your welding interests, skills, specialties, equipment, etc.
slim88
    Mon Feb 26, 2018 6:28 pm

Hello all, I am a beginning welding student and I need help. I am having trouble Z weaving and getting ready to take my certification plate.
    Sun Nov 19, 2017 10:09 am

Welcome! Are you talking about stick welding?
Lincoln MP 210, Lincoln Square Wave 200,
Everlast 210 EXT
Thermal Dynamics 25 Plasma cutter

" Anything that carries your livelihood wants to be welded so that Thor can’t break it."
CJ737
Mike
    Mon Dec 06, 2010 1:09 pm

Welcome to the forum.
M J Mauer Andover, Ohio

Linoln A/C 225
Everlast PA 200
slim88

Yes I am talking about stick welding for now. I could really use some advice on machine settings and techniques. My settings are about 115 amps and the dig is 3/4 full. The first stringer goes in good until I get to the top and half the times I burn through and when I use a lower amperage all the weld metal falls down the joint. The second pass goes in nice and perfect. The third and fourth pass I try to go faster over the middle but my puddle disappears and when I go a little slower the whole thing droops and sags, should I stay on the edges longer or change settings. Any advice would be appreciated. Thanks
Attachments
image.jpg
image.jpg (68.28 KiB) Viewed 600 times
Canmooseweld
    Tue Feb 27, 2018 12:29 pm

Pretty excited here.... selling my miller212 and just ordered an Everlast 253dpi! Crossing fingers made a good choice. Can’t wait to receive it in couple of weeks.
Poland308
    Thu Sep 10, 2015 8:45 pm

How wide are you trying to weave? That looks like a lot.
I have more questions than answers

Josh
slim88

That's just one side of a tee joint, I was trying to fill each side so I put like 5 or 6 passes all weaving, except the stringer for the root.