Welcome to the community! Tell us about yourself, your welding interests, skills, specialties, equipment, etc.
old_biker
    Fri Aug 03, 2018 9:07 pm

trying to figure out what is my best next move.

I am just a professional hobbyist welder? I have been welding off & on for 40 years, but never really professionally, except in body work doing sheet metal replacement. I currently on call at a body shop welding in new metal as owner hates welding, but I may go a month with out work, or work 20-30 hours in a month, & I have a year or so building & repairing utility / car type trailers. I do have a primary job non welding related, that has changed & is sucking my life out & feel stuck, but been there many years, & until management changed was a good place to work for.

I have trouble getting customers to come to my house to get stuff welded, as I am off the road a bit, & I have to work outside, but I am wondering about maybe trying to get into rig welding? or a service truck? I probably have most tools & equipment, but not a decent truck, but do have an old 2wd dually I could get running & maybe throw a 4wd transfer case & front under it, I cant afford to go buy a nice truck currently. when I used the gas powered I would load stuff on my old Toyota truck as needed, & the pipe liner is on wheels, & I just hauled it for bigger projects

my welding stuff I have a Hobart Pipeline welder, and a Lincoln Ranger 9, at 1 time did some mobile repairs through craigslist ads, I have a Lincoln AC/DC tombstone, a Hobart AC/DC, a Lincoln 180 MIG, a Blue Demon MIG, a uni-spotter, hand held spot welder, several torch outfits, plus a Henrob 2000, which I used instead of having a plasma cutter, or TIG.