Welcome to the community! Tell us about yourself, your welding interests, skills, specialties, equipment, etc.
Rods & Relics
    Wed Mar 26, 2014 6:32 am

Howdy from South Australia.
I Run a Rod & Resto Shop based in the South East of South Australia.
We do all our own welding & fabrication work from Chassis to sheet metal & all in between
(I am a self taught coach builder, just as I am in most other fields :shock: )
I have always loved welding, no matter in what form (I taught myself to stick & oxy weld when I was a kid & I just can't get enough time on the TIG these days :( )
I have done plenty of welding courses (certs 1,2 & 3 engineering/fabrication) & I have even taught a bit in our local school & of course at work, but no "offical" welding ticket :shock:
Though I have had welders & boiler makers working for me (I must admit........ without being a smart ass, I have had to show the "ticketed welders" how to do it quite often :roll: I am a bit fussy when it comes to making brackets etc for our customers cars, but I don't class my self as an expert by any means :oops: )
I have been subscribed to the WT&T videos for what seems like ages & have got plenty out of them THANKS!! ;)
I will NEVER stop learning, even though I have staff to do some of the work these days, I am still a VERY hands on type of boss.
I enjoy teaching anything I know (especially to the young ones) the many skills we use daily in our work, though one beef I do have is trying to get the youngsters of today to stick to learning, as it all just seems "too hard" for many of them :roll: :roll:
I usually have apprentices in both the welding trades & body work when I can, I believe they are our future & in Australia especially we really lack the young people entering any of the trades. I also take on school based work experienced kids to hopefully give them both some insight to what we do, but also the many trades that we cover.