Welcome to the community! Tell us about yourself, your welding interests, skills, specialties, equipment, etc.
Attenurb
    Tue May 13, 2014 1:31 pm

Hi, from the Big Island of Hawai'i - I finally got logged on here after several aborted tries, and much help from Joey Collier. I am a life-long artist - I guess I can say that since I am 70, day after this coming Christmas. I learned to more or less TIG in 1991 on an old Airco 300Amp for my sculpture and carried it over into my knife making of 22 years as well.

One of my long time friends, Bob Taylor grew up in the welding supply industry, and taught me the basics of my newly purchased used Airco, and another friend, a pipe fitter, the late TC Collins, taught me some more on TIG and stick welding.

I am sold on the TIG process as the most versatile method for my needs as I can switch from bronze to steel to S/steel just by picking up a different rod - I don't care that it is slower, it is more controllable. My friend Bob Taylor says "Don't bring a TIG to a MIG fight.", as he mostly uses a MIG, but I am not production orientated.

My fascination with metallurgy in general and applied to my knife forging, the joy of being to be able to join two pieces of metal and even build up areas w/ weld to be later shaped and sculpted is what I love about the TIG process. Having seen a few of your amazing videos on welding tips, I want to become a better welder, even though I have been bumbling along for all these years.
    Thu Jan 24, 2013 10:13 pm

Attenurb
Welcome. We will do out best to help you down your TIG learning road. Post some pictures of your work for us to see.
-Jonathan
Mike
    Mon Dec 06, 2010 1:09 pm

Welcome to the forum Attenurb.
M J Mauer Andover, Ohio

Linoln A/C 225
Everlast PA 200
paul_s
    Thu Feb 06, 2014 10:04 pm

Welcome to the forum.
    Wed Oct 23, 2013 3:30 pm

Welcome from the second best state. :D

~John
Just a couple welders and a couple of big hammers and torches.