Welcome to the community! Tell us about yourself, your welding interests, skills, specialties, equipment, etc.
cowboydan
    Fri Oct 17, 2014 10:13 pm

Howdy!
I'm Cowboy Dan.
I'm currently a full time welding student making a drastic career change. I was an IT project mgr/programmer turned retail store owner. After the failure of my business and lack of employer interest in my tech resume I decided to embark on a career in welding. I invested part of the proceeds of the sale of my house in California after moving back to Oklahoma. I'm in the midst of a 22 week professional welding course and though I'm finding it challenging, I am totally in love with it.

I am finding this forum and Jody's videos to be really, really helpful. I'm looking forward to getting to know you guys.
exnailpounder
    Thu Dec 25, 2014 9:25 am

Hey Cowboy Dan! I am new here too but I was wondering if you ever welded before and why you picked welding for a new career. No reason other than curiosity. Do you plan on pipelining or settling into a production job? When my normal job slows for the winter, doing welding and repairs almost pays the bills plus its fun but it can be a hard road uphill sometimes. I wish you the best of luck and a Happy New Year!
Ifyoucantellmewhatthissaysiwillbuyyouabeer.
    Tue Aug 19, 2014 2:34 am

Welcome cowboydan. Good luck in your new career.
-Eldon
We are not lawyers nor physicians, but welders do it in all positions!

Miller Dynasty 280DX
Lincoln 210 MP
Miller 625 X-Treme
Hobart Handler 150
Victor Oxygen-acetylene torch
Miller/Lincoln Big 40-SA200 hybrid
    Tue Jul 01, 2014 4:34 am

Howdy Dan. I'm over in skiatook. Grew up mostly in oologah, graduated from Collinsville, and have spent a fair amount of time in owasso. Matter of fact ate dinner at andolinis.
I wander if we've crossed paths before?
Also, which welding program are you going to?

Sent from my SM-T537R4 using Tapatalk
Mike
    Mon Dec 06, 2010 1:09 pm

Welcome to the forum Dan.