Welcome to the community! Tell us about yourself, your welding interests, skills, specialties, equipment, etc.
BFTrout
    Thu May 15, 2014 10:13 am

For fear of "Otto Nobedder " and his "be-gone'd" threat from other posts, I thought that I should stop lurking and introduce myself. I have only posted two times on this forum, but have been watching the videos for years.
Welding is mainly a hobby as I run a small farm and have to fix all the stuff that breaks or needs to be built. In addition to farm projects, I make fishing spears, tree stands, and whatever the next project requires. I have zero formal education in the welding trades and am either self taught through reading or by interviewing professional welders. The ability to stick metal together has always fascinated me, and tends to consume my thoughts(is it weird to dream about welding?).
At the moment I only posses two electric welders: a Millermatic 180 and the AC Lincoln tombstone; both of which have served me well to date, but am longing to pick up a TIG welder and become proficient at it.
I enjoy this website immensely and commend the folks that keep it running.
Thanks,
BFT.
    Sat Jul 06, 2013 11:16 am
    Near Pittsburgh,Pennsylvania. Steel Buckle of the Rust Belt

BFT,
Welcome to the forum.

I too have built my own tree stands and your welders are both capable of the task. Just remember that it's you 15-20 feet off the ground so over-engineering and sufficient welds are very important. Safety harnesses are there as back-up and you don't really want to spend much time hanging from one so make sure your welds are up to snuff. We have enough members here contributing from wheelchairs, so be careful.

Len
Now go melt something.
Instagram @lenny_gforce

Len
    Sat Mar 30, 2013 11:49 am

Welcome.
Dont worry about formal training.
I consider farmers to be highly creative and smart people so Im sure you'll pick it up fast. (I'm not a farmer ;) )
    Thu Jan 06, 2011 11:40 pm

Welcome, BFT,