Stick Welding Tips, Certification tests, machines, projects
jock
    Sun Jun 26, 2011 3:45 am

Can any one tell me if there is a stick that will weld a large range of metals and the code number for it ?
I am new to this and only used e6013's so far.
Thanks for any help you can give
    Fri Feb 12, 2010 10:48 am

Ther are several "General Purpose" or "Maintenance" rod manufacturers out there. The type of rod you would need would depend on the types of metals you will mainly be working with.
Jim
Pipefitter/Weldor out of Local 396
Millermatic 252
Dynasty 200DX
Maxstar 150 STL
Spoolmate 100
Hypertherm Powermax 85
Miller Digital Elite
JD2 Model 32 Bender
Emerson 7120 Horizontal/Vertical Bandsaw
Oxy-Gas Torch outfit
Generac XP8000E Generator
jock

Many thanks for that.
I am retired and live on a small lifestyle block so most of the welding is repair work.
Cheers Jock
    Thu Jan 06, 2011 11:40 pm

The impression I get is that most of your repairs will be on various carbon steels, so 6013 is a good all-purpose rod. It is, however, a low-penetration rod, so where strength matters a lot, plenty of grinding is in order to be sure you fully penetrate the joint.

7018 will also weld most carbon steels you'll encounter, is stronger, and is a deep penetrating rod requiring somewhat less prepwork. There is also a 7018AC if your machine can't do DC. 7018 is more difficult to use, however, and must be kept out of humidity to develop it's ultimate strength.

If you need to do an occasional stainless repair, 308 (Stainless) and 309 (Stainless to carbon) can be bought in quantities as small as 2 pounds at some weld suppliers and home centers, but require a DC capable machine. I've welded SS with 7018 with good results as well, but of course you lose the corrosion protection.

Steve
jock

Hi Steve,
Thanks for the info, as you have said most of my work will be on carbon steels but the other rods are worth keeping in mind should they be required.