Stick Welding Tips, Certification tests, machines, projects
Richardb
    Fri Jun 14, 2019 9:35 am

I am a beginner. I’ve burned 25 pounds of rods. I have a project that requires channel (1/4 inch) to be welded to 6x6 x1/4 square tube. This creates a vertical flare bevel weld. I have tried everything I can think of at the flare bevel. From 1/16 to 5/32 at every Clams. Can’t keep the puddle from blowing out of the unfilled back of bevel. Arc wanders from bevel side to flat side blowing out middle. Can anyone help?
    Fri Apr 01, 2011 10:59 pm

If possible switch to an ac stick welder. They are a dimena dozen here in Australia. Just an old buzz box from someones garage. If it's only got an on off switch and no polarity switch, it's an ac unit. Not affected by arc blow because of the constant change in polarity.

Mick
tweake
    Mon Dec 18, 2017 4:53 am

Richardb wrote:I am a beginner. I’ve burned 25 pounds of rods. I have a project that requires channel (1/4 inch) to be welded to 6x6 x1/4 square tube. This creates a vertical flare bevel weld. I have tried everything I can think of at the flare bevel. From 1/16 to 5/32 at every Clams. Can’t keep the puddle from blowing out of the unfilled back of bevel. Arc wanders from bevel side to flat side blowing out middle. Can anyone help?
what rods are you using?
what technique are you using?

i would not automatic assume its arc blow.
i'm picking that your not keeping on the front of the puddle.
also where you point the electrode is a bit of a deal on those welds. sometimes tube can be a bit funny and be more prone to blowing through. so you may need to angle away from it a tad. but that also ties into what technique your using especially if your weaving.

pics help a lot.
tweak it until it breaks
    Sun Oct 27, 2013 10:57 pm

You could zip it closed with 6010/6011 vertical down.
Then switch to 7018 (or whatever you are using) for vertical up.
Dave J.