Stick Welding Tips, Certification tests, machines, projects

I watched Jody's video testing Lincoln Excalibur 7018 and really liked the way the slag pretty much crawled off the weld and jumped in the trash all by itself <G>. So, I bought some of the rod to practice and "get my hand back" since I've been MIGging exclusively for the last several years. Over the course of a few hours today, the touch is returning and the welds are looking much better than they did this morning.

But the slag isn't cooperating at all. I'm having to tap on it pretty hard to get it to come off the weld. It's not curling up by itself and raking generally won't do it. I've been welding some horizontal fillets and some vertical up fillets -- same result either weld. I'm running between 100-125 amps, DCEP with my Bobcat 225. Probably should mention that the rods were not in a oven when I got 'em at the local welding shop.

Any ideas what I might be doing wrong?

Thanks,
ldb
Miller Bobcat 225
Tweco Fabricator 211i
AHP AlphaTIG 200x
Lincoln SP-135+
Hypertherm Powermax 30 Air
ProStar O/A torch
    Thu Jan 06, 2011 11:40 pm

This usually suggests you aren't holding on the edges of the weld quite long enough, and leaving a bit of undercut. The slag will lock into this tight, and be a bitch to remove. This can happen across the middle of the weld if you're too cold, as well, and have excessive ripples along the weld profile.

A picture of a cleaned weld would help a lot.

Steve S
GWD
    Fri Feb 26, 2010 8:50 pm

Is your metal sparkling clean? Grind it to shining and see if that helps.

Also, consider Steve's (Otto) suggestions.

I'd be tempted to run it a bit hotter than what you described if it is 1/8" rod. The original post doesn't mention the size. That is vital information if the amps are to make sense.
Alexa
    Mon Dec 31, 2012 10:07 am

Idbtx.