Stick Welding Tips, Certification tests, machines, projects
chadmh91
    Fri May 16, 2014 8:35 pm

I'm a beginner to the whole pipe welding thing so I wanna know what is the best voltage to weld on the open root & should I use the whip & pause technique or just let the rod burn into the pipe???
    Tue May 28, 2013 11:10 am
    Figuring the picking points of jelly donuts

Voltage? :? OK, I'm fairly new to welding, but I thought for SMAW you get what the machine gives you.
Now arc force is somewhat close. For open root pipe welding I turn the arc force up real high, but I can't adjust the voltage on my machines in the SMAW mode.
    Thu Jan 06, 2011 11:40 pm

Be nice, now...

He said, "beginner"... ;)

6010 SMAW is set by current, not voltage, and our poster may not know the difference.

My preference is a "bury-rod" technique. I'll run 1/8" 6010 at 105A, and jamb it in like I'm angry at it. When right, it responds the same. The pipe will sound like it's full of angry bees.

This method is not for everyone.

Steve S
    Thu Jan 24, 2013 10:13 pm

chadmh91 wrote:I'm a beginner to the whole pipe welding thing so I wanna know what is the best voltage to weld on the open root & should I use the whip & pause technique or just let the rod burn into the pipe???
Now we start the advanced discussions :D You will adjust your amperage not voltage on the machine. Your voltage will adjust or move depending on your arc length. More length, more voltage. Less length, more amperage.
To answer your question though, I like 3/32"-1/8" gap with a drag technique. If you are doing it right the sparks will be inside the pipe. The whip and pause will work too if that is your thing. I can do it but much prefer the drag. To help answer more questions we need what pipe size and what does the WPS specify?

Shield Arc,
I don't think you are a beginner :o ;)
-Jonathan
kermdawg
    Tue May 25, 2010 8:16 pm