Stick Welding Tips, Certification tests, machines, projects
jyblood2
    Tue Jan 06, 2015 9:11 pm

Self taught but trying to improve and learn to 'keyhole':

1.5" by 6" ( 1/8" ) strips tacked 3/32" apart, in the flat position. 3/32" old no-name 6010 at 85 Amps. The keyhole just keeps growing, so tried at <85 Amps and refused to start and stay lit ( not saying it is not me, but I can start and pad the plate at 85 Amps all day ). Will pick up some Lincoln 5P+ tomorrow.

I am I even close on settings?

Thx's, Fred.
Mike
    Mon Dec 06, 2010 1:09 pm

Welcome to the forum Fred.
M J Mauer Andover, Ohio

Linoln A/C 225
Everlast PA 200
jwright650
    Wed Dec 03, 2014 3:27 pm

jyblood2 wrote:The keyhole just keeps growing
Hi Fred,
Quick question....are you striking the rod off and then quickly shortening up your arc as short as possible? If not, the longer the arc, the hotter it burns for the same amperage. Remember it is a constant current machine(CC) so it will vary the voltage according to the arc length to maintain the set amperage.

Let me see if I can remember Jody's saying..." set it hot enough to maintain a short arc,...then... maintain a short arc"
John Wright
AWS Certified Welding Inspector
NDT Level II UT, VT, MT and PT
NACE CIP Level I Coating Inspector
jyblood2

Thank's for the welcome. I will give any and all hints and tips a try.

Let me see: Long Arc Hot, short Arc Cool. This seems counterintuitive to me, but will give it a whirl this evening.

Thx's, Fred.
jwright650

jyblood2 wrote:Thank's for the welcome. I will give any and all hints and tips a try.

Let me see: Long Arc Hot, short Arc Cool.<--for a given setting This seems counterintuitive to me, but will give it a whirl this evening.

Thx's, Fred.