Stick Welding Tips, Certification tests, machines, projects
Bencrossland
    Thu Aug 27, 2015 3:40 pm

Hi I am a fabricator/sheet metal engineer from the UK I have been in this business for five years. I have studied fabrication and welding at college for four years as an apprentice and have good experiance in mig, tig and stick welding and in all that time even when learning to stick weld I have never heard of backing straps until watching the welding tips and tricks videos. I was wondering if any one could explain the purpose of them to me? It is probably something simple and I will feel like an idiot when it is explained to me because I can't get my head around it I thought that penetration was needed on the back side for reinforcement.
    Tue May 28, 2013 11:10 am
    Figuring the picking points of jelly donuts

Think of backing straps as a crutch. Not everybody can weld open root.
plain ol Bill
    Wed Apr 08, 2015 6:46 pm

Backing straps are to insure 100% penetration really.
Tired old welder
CNC plasma cutter
Colorful shop w/
Red, blue, yellow, purple, and Hypertherm silver equip.
gnabgib
    Tue Nov 10, 2009 1:55 am

Shield Arc wrote:Think of backing straps as a crutch. Not everybody can weld open root.
No problem with penetration to see there!.. And how would you do backing straps on a length of pipework anyway?
gnabgib

plain ol Bill wrote:Backing straps are to insure 100% penetration really.
Whatever happened to thorough testing without aids?

/
    Sun Oct 27, 2013 10:57 pm

plain ol Bill wrote:Backing straps are to insure 100% penetration really.
And they are fast to weld too - in my opinion.
Dave J.

Beware of false knowledge; it is more dangerous than ignorance. ~George Bernard Shaw~

Syncro 350
Invertec v250-s
Thermal Arc 161 and 300
MM210
Dialarc
Tried being normal once, didn't take....I think it was a Tuesday.
    Sun Oct 27, 2013 10:57 pm

gnabgib wrote: