Tig welding tips, questions, equipment, applications, instructions, techniques, tig welding machines, troubleshooting tig welding process
i8myWeaties2day
    Tue Feb 27, 2018 10:13 am

Hi guys, I'm new to welding and currently in school. One thing I can't quite get the hang of is finishing a weld from one edge to the other without completely melting the edges when I finish. I think it's because the metal is getting too hot. I've had some luck with lowering the amperage on the ends, but I'm not making it as clean of a start/stop as I would like.

I'm welding cold rolled steel anywhere from 3/32 thick all the way up to 1/2" (not common). Red tungsten, no pulsing.
    Fri Apr 01, 2011 10:59 pm

Jody usually peddles a nice fat tack at the start and end of his plates. Maybe this can help.
    Mon Feb 09, 2015 4:48 pm

Here ya go: https://www.youtube.com/watch?time_cont ... to3s66zf38 I think this was what Mike was talking about :)
Pete

Esab SVI 300, Mig 4HD wire feeder, 30A spool gun, Miller Passport, Dynasty 300 DX, Coolmate 4, Spectrum 2050, C&K Cold Wire feeder WF-3, Black Gold Tungsten Sharperner, Prime Weld 225
Antorcha
    Fri Dec 06, 2013 8:57 am

i8myWeaties2day wrote:Hi guys, I'm new to welding and currently in school. One thing I can't quite get the hang of is finishing a weld from one edge to the other without completely melting the edges when I finish. I think it's because the metal is getting too hot. I've had some luck with lowering the amperage on the ends, but I'm not making it as clean of a start/stop as I would like.

I'm welding cold rolled steel anywhere from 3/32 thick all the way up to 1/2" (not common). Red tungsten, no pulsing.
Welding school ? If so ask the idiot "teaching" the class. If you're blowing through either cool it off or quit manipulating ther puddle and pull(or push) it straight and fast. All this cursive e and other nonsense is just that. Pretend you're a machine.
Poland308
    Thu Sep 10, 2015 8:45 pm