Tig welding tips, questions, equipment, applications, instructions, techniques, tig welding machines, troubleshooting tig welding process
    Mon May 21, 2018 9:47 pm

I am a weekend warrior hobbyist, having taken one lesson in late 2016. Started with a Lincoln 140HD, sold it, and now I have a 210MP. Now I am getting interested in getting a TIG machine (specifically the HTP Intertig 211, water cooled 240 V) and was wondering if TIG would be enough as the only welder around the house.

I love it and despite my limited experience, I am able to do the occasional projects around the house. To give you a sense of some projects I did:
- a workbench from 1-1/2" tube with a wood top;
- welding table with a Stronghand top
- frames for outdoors planters for my wife's herb garden

TIG might allow me to weld sheet metal and Aluminum, plus make more "presentable" welds. But will I still need the MIG machine?
HTP Invertig 221H w/ Arctic Chill cooler and CK20 torch
Lincoln MP210 -- SOLD
Optrel Crystal 2.0
    Fri Apr 01, 2011 10:59 pm

Don't ever sell your machine. Tig and mig are really not interchangeable. You can get away with it sometimes, but there is much more of a case for having both welders
Poland308
    Thu Sep 10, 2015 8:45 pm

I agree. I have the 210mp and a seperate 200 amp AC DC tig machine. There both used sometimes on different parts of the same projects.
I have more questions than answers

Josh
cj737
    Thu Sep 29, 2016 8:59 am

The only reason to swap your 210MP is if you need to TIG aluminum. But you should be able to still weld Aluminum with a Spoolgun and your 210MP.