Tig welding tips, questions, equipment, applications, instructions, techniques, tig welding machines, troubleshooting tig welding process
Junior Welder
    Wed May 30, 2018 5:15 pm

Can someone give me some advice on what TIG welding stuff to buy? Do you need to have different size tungstens or can you just grind them differently?
Is there a big difference in consumable quality? Im not sure of the prices at the weld store but this seems like a pretty good deal: https://www.ebay.ca/itm/46pcs-TIG-Welde ... 41e1cbbd7d

I am using a Syncrowave 250 transformer with a #20 torch.

Thanks for your help!
I'm a 9th grade student teaching myself how to weld.

ESAB Migmaster 250 (MIG)

Miller Two Fifty Twin (Stick)
    Sun Nov 19, 2017 10:09 am

Try Jody's store!!! https://weldmongerstore.com
Lincoln MP 210, Lincoln Square Wave 200,
Everlast 210 EXT
Thermal Dynamics 25 Plasma cutter

" Anything that carries your livelihood wants to be welded so that Thor can’t break it."
CJ737
cj737
    Thu Sep 29, 2016 8:59 am

For TIG, a gas lens kit (a quality one) is a huge help. That kit you referenced contains a lot more stuff than you may ever need. Personally, I have a #5, #6-#8, and a #12 cup. I use all 3 sizes of tungstens (1/16, 3/32, and 1/8) regularly, so you need gas lenses for all 3 sizes. The #5 doesn’t really need a gas lens, but a standard collet body works fine generally, but I use a lens anyways.

A decent pack of Lt Blue (2% lanthanated) tungstens will work well for DC and AC welding. A quality helmet, gloves, stainless brushes, and off you go- Being as you’re in CA, shipping from Jody’s store will cost more, but it’s worth it in the end to help sustain his business given his contribution to the welding community.
Junior Welder

tungstendipper wrote:Try Jody's store!!! https://weldmongerstore.com
I have looked at Jodys store and would like to support him but being that im only 16, I really need to look where I can get stuff cheap.

ESAB Migmaster 250 (MIG)

Demented