Tig welding tips, questions, equipment, applications, instructions, techniques, tig welding machines, troubleshooting tig welding process
    Mon May 21, 2018 9:47 pm

Hello, I am total noob in TIG, having just purchased my first TIG welder and finished a cart. Struggling with laying beads.
Setup:
* HTP Invertig at 150A, frequency 60Hz, balance 75%
* Argon 14cfh
* CK20 water cooled torch, size 7 cup, gas lens, 3/32" lanthanated electrode, stickout 0.31"
* Aluminum 1/8" plate, plastic sheet just removed yesterday, cleaned with Scotchbrite and a dedicated S/S brush.
* 1/16" 4043 filler

Ignore the bumps, this is the backside of a plate on which I practiced puddles laid out in a grid (following 6061.com's method)
IMG_0797.jpg
IMG_0797.jpg (35.83 KiB) Viewed 2321 times
[/list]

I could not keep the puddle wide enough (scribed lines are 3/8" apart) and could not feed the filler fast enough. Also the weld has black soot in it.

The second half of the second row is now 3/32" filler, and I feel it was easier to feed, but I still ramped up as I went along:
IMG_2749.jpg
IMG_2749.jpg (43.54 KiB) Viewed 2321 times
Then I reduced the current to 130 Amps:
IMG_8176.jpg
IMG_8176.jpg (36.38 KiB) Viewed 2321 times
Still looks porous, rough and mixed with black stuff. Any pointers are desperately needed, and greatly appreciated. Thank you!
HTP Invertig 221H w/ Arctic Chill cooler and CK20 torch
Lincoln MP210 -- SOLD
Optrel Crystal 2.0
Rstamp
    Mon Oct 30, 2017 7:36 pm

I'm not sure sure on an htp, but you may want to turn your frequency to 120 and your balance to about 60. You don't look to have very much cathotic etching going on, and it looks like your cups dragging in your weld
cj737
    Thu Sep 29, 2016 8:59 am

For 1/8" plate, trying to fill a 3/8" wide gap (scribed line width) you need 1/8" filler. At least 3/32, but 1/8" is more practical. 1/16th is too thin for that amperage and fill width.