Tig welding tips, questions, equipment, applications, instructions, techniques, tig welding machines, troubleshooting tig welding process
Keith
    Sun Sep 08, 2019 10:52 am

Hi guys, I am new to tig welding, got my Everlast 210ext last 2 month or so.
I initially started by testing on mild steel tube and switched to aluminum once I could run a bead and it looked fairly good.
Now, after watching and now re-watching many of Yt welding vids, I have a stable arc on 6061 test plates and can even run shorts beads, sorta. Not pretty mind you, but it is a start.
Now, I am hoping to make up some fencing panels for my partners to do list.
The main job calls for 1" square, rounded corner, 6061 tube .
After studying this problem I am thinking there may be 2 problems at work here , torch too hot, metal tube too cold and maybe bad ground. I fixed the ground, but the got the same results.
1. When trying to test weld a T joint at the joint itself with 2 , cleaned, and almost polished pieces, my torch tungsten, Red - 3/32, and 1/16 , 4043 feed rod, I am getting blow out at the torch tip, meaning uncontrollable start with lots of noise, black soot etc.
At this time I checked the heat on the torch body by removing my one glove. It was close to being too hot to touch due to my continuous attempts I thinkl.
The everlast welder came with a #9 and a #26 torch. Both are getting quite warm and it seems that no matter what I try, less amps, etc. the arc just blows in all directions telling me they are too hot.?
I have tried swapping back and forth between to 2, same result.
I am thinking a water torch and cooler setup would fix this problem but cannot justify the cost at his time.
Maybe a DIY kit?
PS.. Argon Gas at 13-15 CFH, Gas lens in both torches, #5 ceramic cup, approx 1/8 tungsten outisde cup.
Any thoughts would be appreciated.
Thanks Keith
    Wed Aug 21, 2019 5:43 pm