Tig welding tips, questions, equipment, applications, instructions, techniques, tig welding machines, troubleshooting tig welding process
namijo
    Sun Nov 03, 2019 9:58 am

I am new to welding, no prior experience. I am taking a TIG class at the local college. I have been doing well so far, but need some help with this next joint. I just started welding stainless and I am just not getting it. One of my required welds is a horizontal butt (groove, no gap) weld with 1/8" stainless. Every attempt has one of two outcomes: penetration through the joint but got too hot, or looks good with good color but not full penetration. I am using 1/16" tungsten and filler. How would you run this? I can, but don't have to, use pulse. I can back the pieces with other material as long as the groove joint is open, not backed by anything.
tweake
    Mon Dec 18, 2017 4:53 am

hopefully someone will answer as stainless tends to kick my but a fair bit.
what are you using to purge the back side?
i'm not sure what you mean by "penetration through the joint but got too hot,". that sounds like not enough amps and going to slow. i also suspect you will need to cram the rod in rather fast or go up a size in filler which helps cool the puddle.
tweak it until it breaks
cj737
    Thu Sep 29, 2016 8:59 am

Stainless is extremely heat sensitive.And the backside of a butt joint needs a backer or a purge, else it will sugar. I would bump up to 3/32 filler also.

When the puddle gets hot, adding filler cools the puddle, with 1/8" material, 1/16" filler may not be sufficient to cool your puddle enough if you aren't experienced enough to taper your amps. If you do use a back and a gap, then 3/32" will definitely help fill and cool your puddle.