Tig welding tips, questions, equipment, applications, instructions, techniques, tig welding machines, troubleshooting tig welding process
Mac's Crew
    Fri Jan 31, 2020 7:02 pm

Howdy Folks,

First post here, and while my machine has pulse I have never used it. To be honest I am not opposed to using the feature, but I don't truly understand why I would need it. OK I know that it is not NEEDED, but why would a person want it? Lord knows that I am not the best welder around; but I am decent. I have a machine that has more options than I have used (mainly mild steel, some aluminum).

I got the machine for a steal... Thermal Arc 200. I have downloaded the manual, but not sure when I would need some of the features included with the machine.

Thanks
Mac
I haven't built anything I can't throw away yet.
EngineerIsWelding
    Thu Nov 14, 2019 3:01 am

I'm a pretty new welder, but since I have done some experimenting with pulsing on carbon and stainless steel and aluminum, and because more experienced welders haven't chimed in, I'll put in my two cents. I've worked mostly with thin material, 1/8" (11 ga) to a little less than 1/16" (18 ga).

I've found that pulsing is beneficial in some situations, but it doesn't make a night-and-day difference. If you've learned to use a pedal effectively—controlling amps generally and maybe pulsing with the pedal when needed—you can certainly get by without pulsing. I have only found pulsing to be useful at low and high pulse rates, and for different reasons.

For low rates, I've had success with pulsing at my dab rate, about 0.5 to 2.5/second. Add filler when the amps are high, and either move continuously or move when not dabbing. With the right combination of main amps and background amps and high/low amps ratio, you can reduce overall heat input. Should be helpful for thin materials, especially stainless and aluminum.