Tig welding tips, questions, equipment, applications, instructions, techniques, tig welding machines, troubleshooting tig welding process
Wildwelder96
    Fri Apr 03, 2020 10:51 pm

So how should I prep my tungsten for AC welding? Should I taper or ball the tip of the tungsten? Or do both work?
Mac's Crew
    Fri Jan 31, 2020 7:02 pm

I am no expert but have done both... I like tapered. It will ball a bit on it's own.

Sent from my SM-G960U using Tapatalk
I haven't built anything I can't throw away yet.
    Thu Dec 26, 2013 12:41 am

Some don't ball well on their own. Please disclose what tungsten blend you are using and in what diameter.
Spartan
    Fri Mar 06, 2020 8:59 pm

I use a 60 degree taper with a small flat on the end whenever possible when welding aluminum. Seems to hold up the best and give the best penetration/heat input for me. However, depending on your tungsten flavor, size, and cleaning action balance, sometimes the only option is to ball the tungsten before running a bead when at high amperage and higher cleaning actions since the tungsten can sometimes struggle to hold up under these conditions and will start to develop large nodules and mushrooms that will interfere with the arc control if not balled ahead of time.
Wildwelder96
    Fri Apr 03, 2020 10:51 pm

I'm using zirconiated tungsten 3/32
v5cvbb
    Fri May 01, 2020 11:35 pm

Spartan wrote:I use a 60 degree taper with a small flat on the end whenever possible when welding aluminum. Seems to hold up the best and give the best penetration/heat input for me. However, depending on your tungsten flavor, size, and cleaning action balance, sometimes the only option is to ball the tungsten before running a bead when at high amperage and higher cleaning actions since the tungsten can sometimes struggle to hold up under these conditions and will start to develop large nodules and mushrooms that will interfere with the arc control if not balled ahead of time.