Tig welding tips, questions, equipment, applications, instructions, techniques, tig welding machines, troubleshooting tig welding process
MattA986
    Mon Jul 20, 2020 9:18 am

Hi Everyone,

I'm a beginner hobbits welder. I'm using a Primeweld TIG225X welder with a standard collet, collet body, and cup. I'm using a 3/32 2% lanthanated tungsten.

Yesterday I was just doing some practice welding on 16 gauge carbon steel at 70 amps. When I was using the standard collet, collet body, and #7 cup on my CK17 torch, everything was going just fine. I decided to switch to the stubby gas lens kit I got from the weldmonger store. About a second after striking the arc my welding helmet lens would flash off(clear) than back on(dark). It would do this every time. I then switch back to the standard cup and everything when back to normal with no flashing.

I'm using a Titan Tools auto darkening helmet.

Anybody have experience this and know what the cause is?

Thanks,

Matt
Last edited by MattA986 on Mon Jul 20, 2020 3:21 pm, edited 1 time in total.
TraditionalToolworks
    Mon Dec 18, 2017 7:49 am

Something changed on your helmet by the sounds of it. Did you accidentally change the settings?
Collector of old Iron!

Alan
MattA986

No, nothing changed. And when I switch back to the standard consumables I didn't change anything on the helmet. The only variable I can think of is the gas lens.
TraditionalToolworks

MattA986 wrote:No, nothing changed. And when I switch back to the standard consumables I didn't change anything on the helmet. The only variable I can think of is the gas lens.
Matt,

I misread that, I thought it was flashing you when you went back to standard consumables, looks like it was ok at that point.

Not sure why, but the arc could be different, you may NEED to change some of the settings in your helmet.

How are they set?
Collector of old Iron!

Alan
    Thu Dec 26, 2013 12:41 am