Tig welding tips, questions, equipment, applications, instructions, techniques, tig welding machines, troubleshooting tig welding process
quadchopper
    Thu Nov 19, 2020 3:05 am

I am a hobbyist. Been welding with a Miller MIG for a few years. I have been wanting to get into TIG. For the purpose of just learning. I am pretty sure I will find use for TIG. I have narrowed it down to the Lincoln Aspect 230 ($3500) or the HTP ($3000). On the HTP, it is the 110/220v with 25 ft torch cable, hence the price. And price is not the issue. Is there any major advantage between these two models?
    Thu Dec 26, 2013 12:41 am

The aspect 230 is a much newer design, and I believe it has independent waveform selection on AC.

The 221 is customizable exactly how you want: single voltage, dual voltage, air cooled, water cooled, ground clamp length, 12 ft, 25 foot cables, foot pedal, hand amptrol slider, wireless foot pedal, torch style (17,26,9,18,24,micro,flex-loc, IOW HTP can outfit it with what ever you want and just adjust the invoice), reg consumables, stubby, pyrex in short long, large diameter, fupa, edge cups, the list goes on and on and on)...if this is important to you in the initial purchase you might want to ask the Lincoln dealer what they can offer. I dont know about the stick capabilities of the Aspect 230, but the HTP 221 will run any rod including 6010 on 240V, AC & DC, with pulse or without, adjustable AC frequency and balance and independent amplitude even on stick, with or without foot pedal or band amptrols. So its very versatile.
VA-Sawyer
    Tue Jul 31, 2018 12:56 am

quadchopper,