Tig welding tips, questions, equipment, applications, instructions, techniques, tig welding machines, troubleshooting tig welding process
Dstedman
    Fri Nov 20, 2020 4:54 am

I have been welding as a hobbyist for many years. I have two machines, one cheapy and one not so cheapy that do stick and mig. I want to get into Tig. At this point just for steel. Primary reason is to have more control and to put less heat into the work piece.

I am looking for suggestions for a Tig only machine. I would like it to be capable of welding steel and aluminum but the aluminum is not critical at this point. Baby steps first.

Budget is up to $2500.

Would like it to be capable of using water cooling but be able to add that later.

I would need a complete plug and play package, I am a long way form ready sources of parts and supplies.

Power available: I have a 400 amp triple phase main panel so probably not a big issue. I run an 85 Amp Hypertherm and the lights do not flicker.

Please consider me uniformed at this time, so if you say "this machine has reverse flow wingbats at 62% of osmotic field strength" it will likely mean nothing to me. What I want to know is which machine is solid, will last say 10 years, has the ability to keep up as I learn and not limit me in the medium term future.

Open to suggestions.

Dstedman wrote: What I want to know is which machine is solid, will last say 10 years, has the ability to keep up as I learn and not limit me in the medium term future.
Open to suggestions.
Welcome to the forum, I bought a Dynasty 210dx and had a problem that required service, fortunately under warranty, that was a few years ago and no problems since, hoping for 10 years

If you have a cooler or not has nothing to do with the machine, it's an added feature that can be done with any TIG capable unit
Dstedman wrote:I am a long way form ready sources of parts and supplies.
Where are you located?
Richard
Website
cj737
    Thu Sep 29, 2016 8:59 am