Tig welding tips, questions, equipment, applications, instructions, techniques, tig welding machines, troubleshooting tig welding process
Smokin32
    Wed Feb 01, 2012 11:22 pm

Hi everyone!

I am a total noob when it comes to welding, in fact I've so far had a total time of about 2 mins behind a tig before I decided to get a really expensive rig in the Dynasty 200dx. Its just way too much fun welding and I simply want to learn how to do it and the tig is very artist friendly (which is my hobby). I also want the more robust Dynasty because I have an opportunity to really use it in a variety of applications. I am a contractor who started working at a prop house where they fabricate and repair alot of antiques and different types of furniture. I have no doubt that I will be working on their inventory if I can become proficient in the Dynasty which is why I want to get it and start playing already! Here is the problem, I need help in figuring out what I might need or want. Do I just want to get the complete package that miller puts out or might I want to by more select parts and get a better bang for the buck? Will I regret not paying a little more for a torch or some dohickey vs just getting what is included in the package?

OK, here is where Im at right now.....

Miller Dynasty 200 DX wireless TIG Package 951397... is $5000 not including helmet, gas, and rods

it comes with
Dynasty® 200 DX power source
10 ft (3 m) primary cord
(2) Dinse 50 mm connectors
2-Wheel Trolley Cart
Coolmate™ 1 Cooler 120VAC
Coolant (1 gallon)
Wireless Foot Control and Receiver
25 ft (7.6 m) Weldcraft® WP20 water-cooled torch
Torch accesory kit with tungsten
Sheilding Cups
Collets-1/16, 3/32, 1/8
Collet Bodies-1/16, 3/32, 1/8
2% Cerium Tungsten-1/16, 3/32, 1/8
15 ft (4.6 m) work lead w/clamp
10 ft (3 m) gas hose
Smith Regulator/flowmeter
Torch Cable Cover

But option number two might be....
Dynasty 200DX power source + Wireless foot pedal + cooler for $4100