Tig welding tips, questions, equipment, applications, instructions, techniques, tig welding machines, troubleshooting tig welding process
taylorkh
    Tue Mar 06, 2012 9:43 am

After watching Jody's video about the CK Worldwide Flex-Loc TIG torch I decided to purchase one. I found a good price at weldfabulous.com. The torch came with a SuperFlex cable. Wow is it flexible! And slippery. I tried to drape it over my forearm as I do with my old cable but it just slips off. Still, it is quite light so I can deal with that. I decided that it would be great with my mini WP9 torch. So I decided to try it.

It seems that CK uses a proprietary thread size on their torches. The torch end of the cable will not fit any of my other torches (Weldcraft and generic). I studied the CK web site and several of their documents which were available for download. NOWHERE does it indicate that a proprietary thread is used. Nor does it even show the thread size. The Flex-loc torch is certainly unique and I am sure it will come in handy for many jobs. However, I do not think I will purchase any other CK products.

Ken

p.s. Does anyone know of an adapter to connect a CK cable to the torches made by the rest of the world?
delraydella
    Mon Apr 25, 2011 7:35 pm

Are you trying to fit the flex head to a different torch body? It doesn't look like you're supposed to do that.
WeldingSyncrowave 250,Millermatic 252,30a Spoolgun Cutting12" Hi-speed Cutoff Saw, 9x 12 Horizontal Bandsaw MillingGorton 8d Vertical Mill TurningMonarch EE Precision Lathe GrindingBrown & Sharpe #5 Surface Grinder
taylorkh
    Tue Mar 06, 2012 9:43 am

Are you trying to fit the flex head to a different torch body?