Tig welding tips, questions, equipment, applications, instructions, techniques, tig welding machines, troubleshooting tig welding process
amazinblazin
    Fri Jul 19, 2013 7:28 pm

So today I had a welding assessment for a company I interviewed for. I would like some feedback on this. It was a 3G open root with 1/2 6061 aluminum using 4043 filler. It was 13 stringers total. Please keep in mind I have no aluminum experience and I mean NO experience and I winged this with the help of the forum and Jody's videos. I know its not pretty but I'm proud of it for damn sure! I had no TIG finger and it was blazing hot so it was all done without propping up on something (I know not smart but hey it is what it is). Thanks
Attachments
aluminum welding assessment.JPG
aluminum welding assessment.JPG (101.49 KiB) Viewed 1337 times
    Fri Apr 01, 2011 10:59 pm

Hey,

I have almost zero experience with Al as well, the thing i noticed is that there seems to be some sort of adhesive on the plates, from tape or something. That sort of stuff needs to be removed with a solvent of some kind, al does not bode contaminants well. As for the weld, doesn't look too bad, especially for an al newb with knuckle of fire. lol

Mick
Alexa
    Mon Dec 31, 2012 10:07 am

amazinblazin wrote:So today I had a welding assessment for a company I interviewed for. I would like some feedback on this. It was a 3G open root with 1/2 6061 aluminum using 4043 filler. It was 13 stringers total. Please keep in mind I have no aluminum experience and I mean NO experience and I winged this with the help of the forum and Jody's videos. I know its not pretty but I'm proud of it for damn sure! I had no TIG finger and it was blazing hot so it was all done without propping up on something (I know not smart but hey it is what it is). Thanks
=====

Amazinblazin.