Tig welding tips, questions, equipment, applications, instructions, techniques, tig welding machines, troubleshooting tig welding process
    Fri Oct 04, 2013 8:48 am

Hi All,

Looks like I need some help here.

I am welding some parts, 4130 steel, for my J3 Cub home-built aircraft. After beading the welds I noticed small black specks that are like glass hard and will not bead off without scraping them. Any suggestions what is causing this or what I am doing to cause these?

I am not a professional welder, just a hobbyist. So, please be kind on the weld appearance .... their not pretty but they work.

Any help would be very appreciative,
Keri-Ann

Using:
L-Tec STW 140i
Foot pedal control @ 30 Amps max set at Welder
CK 130 Flex-Torch ... love this torch.
ER70S-2 filler rod, new.
.06 dia, 2% Cert. electrode. Sharpened to a point, polished.
No.5 stubby cup and gas lens
Agron gas @ 20cfm

Sat Jul 06, 2013 11:16 am
    Near Pittsburgh,Pennsylvania. Steel Buckle of the Rust Belt

Rosie,
What you're seeing is the silicon coming to the surface. Some is picked up from the parent metal but most is from the rod. The designation -S2 (ER70-S2) at the end of the filler rod type is the amount of silicon that's added to the rod. In a perfect world all this would end up at the end of the weld. With practice your welds will become more consistent and it will end up only in the end of the weld. It's nothing to be cocerned about long as it has come to the top though.

Len
Now go melt something.
Instagram @lenny_gforce

Len

Thanks Len for the reply. I am working on that "stack of dimes" look, much more interested in the integrity of the welds at this point.
Glad to hear it is only that. The aesthetics will come with hours of practice, probably the very last weld out of thousands ... LOL!