Tig welding tips, questions, equipment, applications, instructions, techniques, tig welding machines, troubleshooting tig welding process
Charles
    Tue Oct 29, 2013 9:57 am

Hey guys, I finally got the power run for my new welder and have been trying to do Jody's steel drill for the past two evenings. I have no prior TIG welding experience so I'm starting from scratch here.

I'm welding on what I believe to be some A36 mild steel that I got from the scrap bin at work. It has freshly machined surfaces, so there's no scale, rust, or dirt on it. I'm prepping it with some scotch brite and then wiping clean with acetone to get any residual cutting oil off the surface.

As far as machine settings and torch setup, I'm on DC-, 2T setting and running around 100 amps. 10 CFH argon with a 3/32" 2% lanthanated tungsten with a gas lens and #8 cup on it.

I've run several experiments so far trying to isolate variables in the problems I've been having, which are the following:

-With a 1/16" tungsten, I'm getting arc flashed. The arc establishes and is clean / stable, then it will flash up real bright for a second or two, then go back to normal. Going to a 3/32" seemed to solve this problem.
-In going to 3/32", I'm having some serious porosity problems. Last night I wasn't adding any filler wire, and my welds look like they're not getting any shielding at all. Porosity and brown crap all over the bead. I checked and double checked my gas flow and there's definitely gas flowing out of the torch head. Increasing gas flow makes the problem worse.

Could there be residual contamination inside the steel, or is there something wrong in my weld prep or machine / torch setup? Any tips or things to try are greatly appreciated...getting pretty frustrated that I can't do such a seemingly simple thing.

-Chuck
    Thu Dec 26, 2013 12:41 am