Tig welding tips, questions, equipment, applications, instructions, techniques, tig welding machines, troubleshooting tig welding process
lucky
    Thu Apr 10, 2014 6:02 pm

I have the flex loc 230 torch and when I pull the long back cap off, I do this more often then not, the oring seems to get damaged. It seems to hang up when I pull it off, so it keeps getting damaged. I tried taking the damaged one off of another cap I have, but it broke in half VERY easily when I tried to roll it off.

Is this a common issue with this torch and oring? It seems like a crappy design. Can I use a common oring, or do I have to buy that specific one? I am up the creek as we speak.
Coldman
    Mon Dec 15, 2014 2:16 am

If you need to get it going any oring will do. The original may have a higher temp rating so might be worthwhile keeping some spares. I've been using a flexloc for a couple of years now and not changed any orings yet. You may have a burr on the thread or something cutting your oring.
Flat out like a lizard drinkin'
exnailpounder
    Thu Dec 25, 2014 9:25 am

Put a tiny dab of silicone grease on it.
Ifyoucantellmewhatthissaysiwillbuyyouabeer.
dirtmidget33
    Tue May 13, 2014 5:22 pm

I screwed a couple of o-rings up on torches. If you need a few quick. I have gotten them from usaweld.com, they are not on website but if you call they have them and ship fast. I keep a few extras in box in case I mess one of them up. I noticed since I went with wedge collets over split collets haven't messed up o-ring since. My personal thoughts on it are sometimes those split collets when they get hot the tungsten comes loose I would tighten the back cap and believe with the torch and o-ring being that hot it would stick a little and tear. plus as we all know the split collet is twisting when its hot at this time too.
why use standard nozzles after gas lens where invented. Kinda of like starting fires by rubbing sticks together.
    Thu Jan 06, 2011 11:40 pm