Tig welding tips, questions, equipment, applications, instructions, techniques, tig welding machines, troubleshooting tig welding process
Tooms
    Fri Sep 12, 2014 3:28 pm

Hi

sorry if i am writing something wrong, i am an newbie and is just started ;)

the flowmeter/regulater that i got is just the cheap entry model that i got from the gas firm with my bottle and the cost was just around 25-30£, so it is likely not an super good one but it seems to work.
i have now used my 20L bottle and think that it was abit faster then i expected it to and that i may use more gas over time then i have expected it to and is there for looking at options to better save/control the gas to save money in the long run.

To make it short, i have seen that this flowmeter "ELGA Optimator" is claiming that it can save up to 50% gas because when the gas flow is starting then it is not overshorting the gas flow in the start and because of this then saves some gas.

So is it an good idea to change the flowmeter to one like this to save gas over the years or is it just maketing ?

/Thomas
Last edited by Tooms on Sat Aug 22, 2015 7:24 am, edited 1 time in total.
    Sat Mar 30, 2013 11:49 am

Hej Thomas.
I have changed to Elga regulator and I think the cinsumption went down. Difficult to compare when not welding every day and taking purge gas from the same bottle when needed.

However, the better regulators output a more even flow which in time will save you some. If the also reduce the surge flow it will be the greatest saving.

Also if you have experience from mig you will immediately notice the higher consumption of tig.

On tig you have both pre and post flow that will consume a lot if youre doing many short runs. Post flow will be the largest factor but you need quite long time to keep your tungsten clean, usually 4 sec and above.
Tooms

Hi AndersK