Tig welding tips, questions, equipment, applications, instructions, techniques, tig welding machines, troubleshooting tig welding process
nathan
    Sun Jun 16, 2013 1:20 pm

I got my HTP flowmeter and gas hose in today (review coming soon, but I ordered it Monday, shipping was free, and the reg, hose, and 2# of er70s6 was just under $70, so I'm a happy customer going into it). Filler rod shipped separately and will be here later.

Some of you know, but I will explain again what I'm doing.

I have a few years experience now, but I always want to be making progress, so I'm wanting to learn to TIG pipe. I started my shop with the goal of using it to fund my self-training, and I now have my complete at-home TIG rig. Now I am looking for a place to start.

You guys that do this stuff, and have learned it, where do you recommend that I start? I've done plenty of TIG, up to 5F position ally, so I know what I'm doing, but pipe is a different game, I hear.

Here's my rig:
2012 Lincoln AC/DC 225/125
WP17FV-12R torch with 3/32" 2% thoriated tungsten, power block, and #8 standard cup
HTP flowmeter on an 80cf tank of pure Argon

Where do I need to start if I want to start welding pipe? I intend to go to the scrap yard and get some scrap pipe, what sizes should I look for and what thicknesses? What positions should I start with? Any pointers on those positions?

I am shooting for a 6G unlimited thickness cert, again, self-funded.
Instagram: @nathanppiatt

Owner/welder at Homegrown Metal Fab

Lincoln Weld-Pak 125 HD
Lincoln AC/DC 225/125
Lincoln Port-a-torch
30" 40 ton homegrown press brake
Northern Industrial1HP 3/4" chuck, 16 speed drill press
Poland308
    Thu Sep 10, 2015 8:45 pm