Tig welding tips, questions, equipment, applications, instructions, techniques, tig welding machines, troubleshooting tig welding process
Bagus
    Sun Jan 19, 2014 3:43 am

hey guys,

A friend of mine is mid way through restoring his car (ah the joys of bodywork) and has asked me to fill the hole where the sunroof was.
funnily enough he has managed to get a half cut of the front section of the roof, which should make my life easier.
He's a good 3 hour drive from me so I would love to do it in one hit, so he can block/prime etc.

I haven't done a sunroof before, and im worried about warpage. any one have any tips?
Obiviously try and keep the heat as minimal as possible, should I use a chill block of some kind?
Around the sunroof it has a fair amount of structure, so im hoping that will take a a bit of heat out and provide some rigidty.

thoughts?

Ben.
Coldman
    Mon Dec 15, 2014 2:16 am

I have zero auto body experience. I have done sheetmetal panel work though.

Apart from what you have already said, my tips are:
- make the fit as perfect as you can, avoid gaps.
- once in position, go around tacking every 4". Then go around tacking every 2". Then every 1". The more tacks you have the less warping you will get.
Blast tacking like Jody does is a real help.

Good luck.
Flat out like a lizard drinkin'
Coldman

In fact if you go around blast tacking until you end up with a continuous weld you can pretty much avoid warping because the joint has not seen serious heat. Time consuming but effective.
    Thu May 07, 2015 11:46 am