Tig welding tips, questions, equipment, applications, instructions, techniques, tig welding machines, troubleshooting tig welding process
    Wed Feb 17, 2016 4:08 pm

Hi guys, I've been MIG welding for a while and have just bought myself a TIG. I found that DC welding steel/stainless steel wasn't as hard as I'd expected to get started with and feel like I've begun to get to grips with it relatively easily. I mainly bought the TIG for the aluminium jobs I need to do though and have so far have found it pretty tricky!

I'm a hobbyist learning on my own so would really appreciate some input from some of the more experienced welders on this forum!

I'm currently practicing with some 2mm aluminium sheet I have. I've found that I can get a pool started on a flat piece of stock, then start creating a bead across the workpiece. It's by no means a work of art but it's got the basis of something I can hopefully develop into an acceptable weld.

The problem is that as soon as I go to do either a butt or a lap weld, everything starts to go horribly wrong and I can't get a bead to start taking shape.

My setup is:

R-Tech TIG161 AC/DC 160amp Inverter TIG.
Fresh, 1.6mm ceriated electrode.
2mm aluminium sheet.
20cfh pure argon/10sec post flow.
4043A filler rod.
Base current 55amps (a welding calculator suggested 65-70 but I think that was for a non-inverter and it turned out to be too high anyway).
No pulse.
Approx 55% AC balance, approx 110hz AC frequency.

I've checked most of the common "newbie" mistakes which I've found online. I'm holding the torch at about a 15 degree angle with my filler rod 90 degrees to the torch, I've cleaned the workpiece extensively by grinding the top oxide layer away or scrubbing with a stainless wire brush, then cleaning with acetone. I've used various "welding calculators" to get the setup right. I've tried using a chunk of aluminium billet as a heat sink.