Tig welding tips, questions, equipment, applications, instructions, techniques, tig welding machines, troubleshooting tig welding process
LIGOOMBA
    Sat Jan 08, 2011 11:18 pm

I don't post much just read and try to obtain take in as much information as possible.Im just a novice hobby welder .I want to start practicing more tig at work.I get an hour lunch so I figure 15 minutes to eat and the rest I will be able to practice .I want to focus on aluminum.Other than Jodie's aluminum drill what do you guys suggest I do ? I have access to just about anything type of scrap that there is ,round,square tubing flat sheets etc... .The metal is all new as My boss doesn't care as long as it's scrap.We have water cooled Dynasty 200s as well as 350s.I have a 180 syncro at home , I know it's totally different .The welding supervisor said he will help me out as far as learning the machines.I would just like some ideas.
Thanks
Louie ("aka"Long Island Goomba)

That's a sweet deal you have going there, I'd suggest starting with flat plate and running beads. Maybe use 2 or 3 plates so they don't get too hot, you'll notice the difference between a cold and hot plate.

Also you can use 1/8" sheet and do lap and tee joints.
Richard
Website
LIGOOMBA

LtBadd wrote:That's a sweet deal you have going there, I'd suggest starting with flat plate and running beads. Maybe use 2 or 3 plates so they don't get too hot, you'll notice the difference between a cold and hot plate.

Also you can use 1/8" sheet and do lap and tee joints.
Thanks ,I know about the using a few plates . I learned the hot and cold plate differance on my own.LOL.
Didn't think about the T joints, I'll start out with some flat plate/beads and once I get that down I'll do some Ts and make some corner joints .Just looking for some ideas .I don't want to get too ahead of myself yet. LOL.
    Sun Sep 22, 2013 10:14 am