Tig welding tips, questions, equipment, applications, instructions, techniques, tig welding machines, troubleshooting tig welding process
mpete53
    Sun Mar 06, 2016 11:33 am

I am still quite new at tig welding, but I feel I am getting quite good a t tungsten sharpening. So, it goes without saying that my tungsten are getting shorter and I need to buy some new ones. The first time I purchased them I got the cheapest I could fine, now that I am getting better is it worth spending 2 to 3 times as much for a known brand? If so, what brand do you recommend? I have been using 2% lanthinated .

Mark
Sandow
    Fri Mar 04, 2016 4:52 pm

I've generally bought these:

https://www.amazon.com/ABN-Tungsten-Ele ... d+tungsten

but I was given a pack of the diamond ground 2% lanthanated and can't tell the difference. It doesn't hurt to play around with the expensive ones but don't think that they are better just because they cost more.

-Sandow
Red-hot iron, white-hot iron, cold-black iron; an iron taste, an iron smell, and a babel of iron sounds.
-Charles Dickens
exnailpounder
    Thu Dec 25, 2014 9:25 am

If you're new get the cheap stuff til you quit dipping. I bought some 2% lanthanated from HTP and it was cheap and works great. Thoriated works good too but you will glow in the dark after you sharpen it and breath the dust :lol: No difference in quality...buy what you can afford...all the same...you need to resharpen even if you don't dip so get used to it. 8-)
Ifyoucantellmewhatthissaysiwillbuyyouabeer.
Coldman
    Mon Dec 15, 2014 2:16 am

There are some crappy electrodes coming out of prc but also good ones. If you have good experience with your cheapies, stay with them - they're about as good as anything expensive.
Flat out like a lizard drinkin'
mpete53
    Sun Mar 06, 2016 11:33 am

Thanks

Still learning and dipping so cheap it is
    Thu Dec 26, 2013 12:41 am