Tig welding tips, questions, equipment, applications, instructions, techniques, tig welding machines, troubleshooting tig welding process
nelson
    Sun Jul 17, 2016 1:21 pm

Hi all,
I'm new at this. I've been sticking the tungster more than necessary. I will try darkening the shade. I've had it around 10 or so. I'm thinking darker may help me see the tip better???
I guess concurrently is this a safety issue? I've had this helmet for 10 years doing Flux core until 2 weeks ago when I stuck my tip in the TIG arts. In using this helmet I've never had an issue with my eyes. I was concerned at first since when striking the arc I could see a bit of flash before it darkened...maybe a few milliseconds.
should I set it for 11? I've heard I would get a scratchy sensation in the eyes especially when going to sleep? Wives tale?
Many thanks!
Stone knives and bearskins.....and a NEW EVERLAST 164SI !!!
That's my newly shared work welder.
At home I got a Power Tig 185 DV. Nice, but no plasma cutting... Nice tight arc after a second.

nelson wrote:Hi all,
I'm new at this. I've been sticking the tungster more than necessary. I will try darkening the shade. I've had it around 10 or so. I'm thinking darker may help me see the tip better???
I guess concurrently is this a safety issue? I've had this helmet for 10 years doing Flux core until 2 weeks ago when I stuck my tip in the TIG arts. In using this helmet I've never had an issue with my eyes. I was concerned at first since when striking the arc I could see a bit of flash before it darkened...maybe a few milliseconds.
should I set it for 11? I've heard I would get a scratchy sensation in the eyes especially when going to sleep? Wives tale?
Many thanks!
Hey nelson, you should never see a flash with an AD hood, and the auto darkening technology has made some advances in the last ten years, I would strongly recommend looking at a new hood.

With TIG welding you should set the shade so you can distinguish (see) the tip of the tungsten.