mig and flux core tips and techniques, equipment, filler metal
Mikeover
    Mon Jan 11, 2016 11:47 pm

I'm practicing sheet metal welds, 20ga. (.037) steel using a Lincoln 256 power mig, .023" wire, with correct tip, liner, feed rollers, straight CO2. Often the wire on arc initiation simply vaporizers back into the contact tip & sticks inside at least for a moment. Settings are 200 ipm @ 17.4 volts.

I've tried swapping tips, and various roll force settings - no appreciable changes.

What's happening, and how to cure?

Thanks!
Homemade
    Tue Sep 12, 2017 8:31 am

I’m no expert, but I’d try more wire feed speed.
Mike Westbrook
    Wed Apr 04, 2018 8:13 pm

Does that Lincoln have a dial for run in if so try changing it if it's set low it will start slowly then come up to set ipm I have a Lincoln sp 255 and it has a very hot start but never vaporized the wire
Cutting torch hammer and a full vocabulary
Poland308
    Thu Sep 10, 2015 8:45 pm

You may want to do the count to 6 as you feed wire trick. Just to confirm that it’s feeding at the speed your set for. Other thing to check is if your feed rollers aren’t too big.
I have more questions than answers

Josh
    Fri Apr 01, 2011 10:59 pm

Check the tension nut on the middle of the spool. If it's over tight, the wire can't feed and burns back. Too loose and the spool free wheels after stopping.
Mikeover

Thanks to all for the replies - I usually weld much thicker material so practicing on sheet metal with this issue has been frustrating.

After online searching someone had reported success with electrode negative - that Did Not Work for me - vaporized the wire every time, just in case someone else looks for a solution.

What did work - using the run in control to reduce initial wire feed speed which seems to me counter intuitive, and thoroughly cleaning seemingly clean metal.

The problem still occurs though with much reduced frequency - even tried a larger contact tip to no avail.