mig and flux core tips and techniques, equipment, filler metal
TheGman
    Tue May 16, 2017 8:39 pm

OK! Someone please help me out here!!! This power stuff is baffling!!

I have an Everlast I-140E MIG 120v setup. It says that for optimum performance, it needs to be on a 30amp breaker. I plug it into the washing machine 20amp outlet when using it.

My question is - If I NEVER trip the 20amp breaker, is there any reason to upgrade to a 30amp circuit??

While typing this it just occurred to me - Do welders sense the available amperage and adjust themselves accordingly?

Forgive my ignorance. I learned about electricity a long time ago but it revolved around boys, urination, and electric fences.
    Sat Feb 17, 2018 10:10 pm

I’m no electrician either, I probably shouldn’t even be throwing in my 2 cents here lol.

No the welders don’t sense how much they get, but they do only pull as much amperage as they need. If you’re using the machine at half the max amperage (in you’re case 70ish amps) then no you’ll use nowhere near 30 amps. The “optimal performance” as they call it means the machine completely maxed.

Basically if you crank your machine up to the max and run it till it overheats you will need 30 amps from the wall. Your 20 amp will trip before your welder overheats and kicks off.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    Thu Dec 26, 2013 12:41 am

Yup. Max out the wire-speed and voltage and run it full-bore on a thick piece of scrap metal, and then tell us if your current breaker survives. :D
tweake
    Mon Dec 18, 2017 4:53 am

keep in mind that circuit breakers take a while to trip even when overloaded. you can run 25 amp through for a short time without it tripping.

however the other thing to consider is wiring size and voltage drop.